Courage

wingding. Courage wingding3

Poem/Passage by: Shadow Summit


Disclaimer: I know the following passages aren’t technically properly structured, I’m not a poet, just a writer using words to try and make a change. ❤


Image Credit: Whisper – by Wang Ling


Courage
I wish I had more
To speak up
Against sharp tongues
“She did this
He did that
What a bitch
What a brat”

They said that about you
So you’ll say that about them
A vicious cycle
That has no end
Hurt, pain, betrayal
You are all ‘friends’
Accepting and open
But it’s all just
So you can add chapters
To your version of a lie
Disguised as the truth of someone’s life

Support your friend
But return to shadows
Join the whispering
Malicious gossip
Revealed behind
A friend’s turned back
Savage
Hurtful
Fake

Do you have a conscience
Feel the horridness of chatter
Since when did friendships form
Because we hate the same people
I don’t know why it became cool
To laugh at other’s misfortune
Since when did heartless gossip
Become the definition of conversation

I tend to overthink
What I want to say
But listen now
Don’t talk about my brother
Don’t talk about my friend
Don’t talk about that person
I’ve never even met
If you’ve got nothing nice to say
Then keep it to yourself

Courage
I wish I had more
To take a stand
Not afraid of what
They’ll say about me
Don’t need the good opinion
Of backstabbers and liars
So, please
Can you all just
~Stop~


(c)ShadowSummit 2016-2018

Image Credit: Whisper – by Wang Ling


~ ❤ ~ wingding3 ~ ❤ ~

2 thoughts on “Courage

  1. I was told by a friend that if a group of people say colleagues are talking gossiping about ur friend,u too need to join the conversation by telling some bad points about them or else they will alienate you and your work life will be difficult.I cannot agree with it .I told her if anyone tell bad about my friend ,I leave the group who talks such rubbish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I don’t like the whole mentality that you have to just go with it, or you’ll get targeted, it’s just silly and makes people turn against friends just out of fear. I’m glad you are courageous in taking a stand against things like that, you’re awesome for that. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a comment