Dreamlike Life and Lifelike Dream

wingding. Dreamlike Life and Lifelike Dream wingding3

Flash Fiction by: Shadow Summit


Would you believe that in my bedroom I have a portal that takes me between two worlds?

Covered in a warm duvet, the edges brushing the floor on three sides, is my singe bed. I’m yet to secure the wooden slats of the bed frame and the mattress has springs which dig into my back. As simple as it is, on that bed is where my journey between the two planes begins.

The two worlds consist of a place we call the real world, life, and the other world is that of dreams and nightmares. Both consist of scenes of joy, fear and sadness; if one isn’t careful you may forget on which side you truly exist. When life leaves me numb and dreams feel far too real. When life’s good memories fade till they feel like they were a dream and dreams disguise themselves as memories in the mind. In this way, the two worlds become strangely interchangeable.

Life has a beauty and charm to it. A creation so carefully crafted can never truly be void of such awe-striking brilliance. A warm sun that fuels the life blood in the cool of winter and a cool breeze that refreshes the stifling air on a hot day. Relationships between individuals that reflect an unconditional love and care and which leaves an intangible but real mark. An adoration that makes the heart feel full and laughter that clears the dark clouds of the mind.

However, what I once believed to be a day to day normal part of life, is now just a fond past; a point of nostalgic ache. Things are bound to change in a world of unique individuals, it’s a way of moving forward and not becoming stale. It’s the loss of beautiful relationships and activities that I mourn and miss. A haze filters all the memories of both good and bad times, even the events of yesterday are nothing but series of forgotten details.

When the sky clouds over in grey and I sit alone, being fed the spotlight of a broken world through my phone screen, I feel exhaustion settle in my body and mind. I feel tears brim my dry eyes and feel like an empty shell. I cast my eyes to my bed and make a silent prayer to sleep and never awake. I step through the portal dreading the knowledge that I’ll be awoken and return to life in the morning.

In the world of dreams, I find comfort in the adventures to places I may never go to and people I may never meet in the real world. I can be whomever I wish to be in the dream world, a singer, a dancer, a superhero, a mum. I can breathe underwater, wear gorgeous dresses and explore fantasy worlds. I can attend concerts, see friends that I haven’t seen for years, laugh, feel adored and adore with an open heart. Despite the surrealism, they become strangely precious moments.

However, nightmares cast their terrifying shadows over my dreams. Those I love, face horrors that I’m powerless to save them from. My wings disappear and my legs feel heavy. My hands are covered in blood, faces and creatures take on devilish forms. I fight with all my being, even when I know it’s just a dream, for every cry I hear and glazed eye I meet feels as if it’s truly there. I beg to escape the dream world, will my clamped shut eyes to open and allow me to escape. I pray that this nightmare will release me. And when I sit up and shake myself, looking around my bedroom to assure myself that I am truly awake, I don’t lie back down immediately lest I be thrust straight back through the portal and into the same nightmare.

Therefore, I find myself wishing to dream when I’m awake and awaken when I dream.

So, shall I lie in bed and wish to never wake from the world of dreams, or do I rouse myself awake and live a life that will eventually feel like it was all just a dream?


(c)ShadowSummit 2016-2021


~ ❤ ~ wingding3 ~ ❤ ~

Leave a comment