Freedom Stallion

Freedom Stallion

Short Story/Flash Fiction by Shadow Summit

I heard the horse before I saw it, its hooves thudded on the earth in a quick rhythm. My eyes turned to the horizon where the horse topped the rise, the sun illuminating it’s amber coat. Its four white socks were stained brown from where mud had splattered the hairs. It galloped towards me at such speed that I wondered if it planned to trample me underfoot. However, it suddenly slowed to a halt before me, merely metres away, its nostrils flaring as it breathed. Its brown eyes seemed to burn with a lively light and its slightly tangled mane informed me of its adventures and untamed freedom.

I soon realized that this wasn’t just a horse but a magnificent stallion. Even as I continued to stare, he lifted his head proudly as if he was totally aware of my admiration. He suddenly bounced on his front legs and pushed into a rearing position. His forelegs pumped the air as his shoulder and chest muscled pulsed with the movement. His hooves dug into the earth as his legs returned to the ground. He whinnied loudly, shaking his head so that his mane was tousled messily. He snorted several times, nodding his head proudly.

He emanated power. He flaunted his strength. He was the king of this land and he was showing me why.

I wanted to reach out but at the same time, the power that drew me in and enthralled me, scared me. I was frozen, my heart beating heavily in my chest and I felt exhilarated.

However, the magic of the moment suddenly wore off as my imaginative vision faded. No horses could be found galloping through the streets of my town, nor had they for years. Instead there were closely knit houses and artificial grass. It made me long for the countryside, for my true home.

It seemed that green grass and rolling hills were only delivered to me via photographs. The stallion taunted me in my imagination and made me long to have that power and freedom he possessed. I straightened my back and raised my head.

“You may be just a dream for now, dear stallion, however, one day I shall meet you and I will join you in your freedom.”

2 thoughts on “Freedom Stallion

  1. This was a nice flash fiction story. You had such nice imaginary, and I enjoyed the narrator acknowledging the horse’s power and strength.

    Just for some feedback, you had a lot of missing commas here.

    For example, “However, (comma) suddenly slowed to a halt before me, merely metres away;”

    Overall, though, I enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Akaluv. I really wanted to show that freedom and power that the stallion had. Sometimes I wish for older times where everything had a touch more natural freedom. I’m glad part of that came across in my writing. Thanks for the feedback, I’ve adjusted the thing as your suggestion, so thank you. 🙂 I’m happy you enjoyed it, thanks. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

