La La Land Thoughts

Hey guys,

So I know I don’t usually do posts like this but today I thought I’d talk about a movie I recently went to see. But this won’t be a review, or at least not really. Sure it will have a brief touch on some of the points on the movie but really it’s other thoughts that were inspired from the movie. There won’t be any spoilers obviously.

Which movie? (Shadow, it’s in the title of the post, duh.) Shh, That’s right it’s La La Land!

mv5bmzuzndm2nzm2mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwntm3ntg4ote-_v1_sy1000_sx675_al_

Honestly one of my favorite lines from it was from the song: Audition (The Fools Who Dream)

“A bit of madness is key
To give us new colors to see
Who knows where it will lead us?
And that’s why they need us”

So the movie itself has gotten a few mixed reviews, mostly positive, and in my opinion it was a really good. Everyone is open to have their opinion though, so if you watched it what did you think?

I went into this movie pretty blind, I saw one trailer before going to see it in the cinema. When I first saw the trailer I imagined what it would be about. So here’s what thought it was about from the trailer, safe to say I wasn’t right. XD I’ll mention a couple of moments of the trailer that I saw which was this one:

Firstly the title, (I didn’t know La La Land was another name of Los Angeles so please forgive me) I thought it was La La Land as in an imaginative place some dreamers and creative minds go and it is sometimes hard for others to pull us out of.

With this in mind, I believed it was about a woman a writer/actress who was prone to these moments of going into ‘La La Land’. She’d imagine out a situation in her head (e.g. Walking with friends @ 0:50 and 1:06 of the trailer) but then she’d actually do the task and it wouldn’t be so glamorous. So she’d live part of her life in this La La Land that wasn’t real.

In comes gorgeous male lead, who is a musician, and the woman falls madly in love. However she can’t seem to gain the courage to talk to him, except in her La La Land moments. Somehow however manages to make some of her ‘imaginative’ moments into reality and they begin to share a bond.

Turns out that male lead also lives part of his life in La La Land and the two decide to write a screen play together including music he’s produced and a plot she’s written. Of course there would be bumps in the road and they’d have a few ideas fall through. Then the woman writes a story about a girl living in La La Land. It’s a hit and main lead male and her are blessed with success.

The couple have achieved their dreams and continue to live a little in La La Land and a little in the real world because they’ve sort of melded together.

The End. ❤ How cute.

So there you go, that’s what my brain thought about it, before actually seeing the movie.

Honestly I felt this film really captured some of the struggles and heartache that artists go through and the acting was impeccable. The music was amazing too and literally made me want to dance when I got out of the cinema. It didn’t help that it was raining outside and all I wanted to do was do the ‘Singin’ in the Rain’ dance. XD

giphy-22

If you haven’t seen it I highly recommend it, even if it is just for the music. 😀

I hope you all enjoyed this slightly different post! I’ve been busy preparing for a course interview and compiling a writing portfolio for it so sorry I’ve been absent. The interview is tomorrow so wish me luck! After that though I’ll be back into the swing of writing, so look forward to new content!

As always you guys are AWESOME!

ShadowSummit

Leave a Reply

