The Lighthouse Keeper

wingding. The Lighthouse Keeper wingding3

Flash Fiction by: Shadow Summit


Thanks to Chrome Prince for the voice acting.


Dear Mother and Father,

I never thought things would have ever turned out this way, nor that I would be in the position I am right now. It has taken me many years to come to the point of writing this and tell you what has really been happening in my life.

Perhaps I just haven’t really known how to say it until now. I’ve never been great with words but I suppose you were never waiting for a lengthy essay. I guess all I needed to write was that I’m okay.

I know that the last time we saw each other was at Elizabeth’s funeral and at that time I left without a word. I should have told you at least where I was headed but at the time I was wandering aimlessly without much care of the final destination.

I am currently living on a small rocky island near the coast of Alangatta where I arrived two years ago. With only a few possessions and even less money in my wallet, I found a position as a lighthouse keeper. I never thought it was the kind of work I’d enjoy but after my wife died all I wanted was some peace and quiet. I had heard enough condolences to last a lifetime and, when the last lighthouse keeper retired, I quickly offered to take the position.

The waves here are ruthless, the rocks foreboding and the winds strong enough to make even the strongest of men unsteady. I entered the lifestyle with little thought at the time, however the island soon taught me who the master was.

I broke three fingers on my first day when the wind slammed the door on my hand. The doctor of the island was me, so was the cook and the builder and the keeper. I continued my work there, as the boat wasn’t due back for another month and honestly I was too embarrassed to send a message. Even now my fingers are slightly bent and I’m told I will definitely have problems with them in the future. I still however have my left hand and despite it being difficult at first I have come to be able to live quite comfortably using it.

As to the work I find it quite enjoyable. While the tasks are repetitive and menial on some days, I know what I am doing and it’s a comforting constant. With the rest of my time I choose to explore. I have also taken to woodcarving however this is mostly done in the evenings when the darkness closes in and my lighthouse is the only thing lighting up the night sky.

The island has many secrets, many I am sure I am still yet to discover. I feel sure I’ve walked every inch of it and yet I still find new things every time I wander.

I have managed to make a couple of friends during this time. The boatmen who bring supplies are kind gentlemen and when we see each other every month I find we can hold very pleasant conversations. They did try to convince me to take a wife, however I told them I had already been married. Although marriage suited me at the time, I can’t see myself marrying anyone else. Elizabeth was my world and now my world is wholly encompassed by life on this island.

I left you all because I felt alone, yet I find comfort in being alone on this island. I find even my own actions and emotions confuse me, so I do not expect you all to completely understand. In the end I have found my purpose and I couldn’t imagine it any other way.

The lighthouse is a beacon to ships at night, just as your own love was a beacon in the darkness I felt. You may have felt you could have helped me but you never truly learn to be content until you are shown that there is a greater power than yourself. The island is the master and I am its willing servant.

Remember I love you both and I shall continue to write to you. I realize that my life ought to be shared just as this island has chosen to share its secrets with me.

Sincerely, and with all my love,

Your Son


~ ❤ ~ wingding3 ~ ❤ ~

2 thoughts on “The Lighthouse Keeper

  1. This was such a unique idea, and I loved the voice acting! It really added to this piece. Fantastic work! You really captured the time period in the writing and voice. Seriously, this is one of my favorite short stories from you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the kind feedback. ❤ My brother did great work in using the accent I wanted and I feel that suited the piece the best. I plan on doing these type of things in the future, but they do take a lot of time to record and edit, but I like doing it so it is fun. 🙂 Thanks again, Akaluv! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

