Let’s Talk: Supporting Dreams

wingding. Let’s Talk: Supporting Dreams wingding3

Blog Post by Shadow Summit


Hey guys!

So today I thought I’d talk about support from both those around us and ourselves.

Now a majority of the time people think that support is solely from other people, but I’ve come to realize that we need to support ourselves too. Not only do we need to dream our dreams but also be bold and take steps in achieving that dream.

I have mentioned in the past that I have a supportive family, who encourage me in my writing and passions. That is partially true and I do have brothers that are always there for me and read my work and listen to my ramblings. However my parents aren’t as supportive as I would like nor do I believe that that is going to change. It could just be my brain overthinking things but I don’t feel that they look at my passions as anything more than a hobby that one day I’ll give up in order to pursue other avenues.

I have always had a passion writing, design and other people and to be truthful until starting this blog earlier this year I never really made any attempts to follow these passions seriously. Since beginning my blog I’ve achieved so much and met so many great writers and people. I have a genuine gratefulness to everyone on WordPress and Twitter who have helped me to get to the point I am now. I don’t intend on stopping now however and next year brings so many new possibilities into my life.

1e6olg

Anyway, so earlier today I was feeling down about a lot of things that aren’t what I want them to be. However I’m also grateful for all that has happened this year even though it was a struggle. I feel like I am failing at so much at life and it took me a moment to get my thoughts together. I came to the decision that I’m going to make a few changes.

globe-map.gif

Firstly, I’m going to get a passport. Now I know what you are thinking… “How is that such a big thing?” I admit it does seem a little crazy but I have always loved the thought of travelling. My family however are less, err, interested and so my own actions were partially based on the fact that our family just don’t go on trips overseas. I decided I wanted to travel, even though it might not be super soon. I want to follow that dream, even if it means finding a few writers who want to travel as writing inspiration. 😛

1enjzn.gif

Secondly, I’m going to research about and hopefully enroll in a Digital Media/Design course for next year. In the past I have looked at further study but my mother has always been reluctant to encourage me in any of the avenues I wanted to look at. She believes that if you study you want to do something that guarantees work afterwards. I was first thinking of studying Journalism however she said that the number of Journalist jobs are dying off and I wouldn’t be able to get a job. Then I looked at Web Design and again the idea was shut down. Today however I realized that I’m quite old enough to make my own decisions for my future. Web design and Digital Design has always fascinated me and I enjoy it a lot. It may sound silly but I’ve always sought the approval of my family in my decisions. So I’ve decided to take that step, after all it’s not like they are paying for it anyway. XD

tumblr_inline_n4x7jmi2kt1ro4gn4

Thirdly, I want to pursue my writing career further. This means self-publishing books and gaining a greater connection with readers and writers. I have lots of plans for present and future books and I know that with hard work I will be able to achieve it.

So never give up on your dreams! Yes sometimes you just have to support yourself and take the leap into the unknown. Who knows maybe things will turn out far better than you could have ever imagined. It’s scary, don’t I know it, but I’m ready to take the risks!

1e6nx7

I want you all to know that I support you no matter what and if you need encouragement you know where to find me! I’m also adding a ‘Contact Me’ thing to my menu so that if any of you want to contact me personally you can do that easily. You can all achieve whatever you put your mind to!

You guys are continually AWESOME!!

ShadowSummit


~ ❤ ~ wingding3 ~ ❤ ~

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: Supporting Dreams

  1. You go girl! Chase those dreams. You need to do what you are passionate about. Now, I am not passionate about my day job. I like it though. Writing and blogging is what I am passionate about. It may not pay yet, but it will down the track. If you are willing to put in the hard work and keep sharpening and honing your skills, you will achieve your dreams. I’m here for a chat anytime.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

