The Pigeon (Short Tale)

prompt.

Hey everyone,

So I saw this prompt on twitter today from Philip and I thought I’d actually write something. So thank you Philip for prompting me to do this. 😀

Anyway, I hope you all like it! You guys are awesome ❤

Also thanks for all the comments recently, I appreciate the feedback and everything you guys have to say. So thanks!

Shadow Summit

 

*Tap Tap Tap*

I’m awoken from my light slumber by something at my window. I groan and open my eyes briefly to check the time.

4:30am

Right on time, again. I thought with annoyance. For just once could you just…not.

I turn to look out the window of my third floor apartment. Sure enough there he was again, his eyes watching me curiously from the other side of the glass. His grey head twitched as he tilted his head to the side.

*Tap Tap Tap … Tap*

He tapped his beak on the glass rapidly three times then paused and tapped it again. He paused as if waiting for me to respond to its knocking.

For a week he had visited my window at the same time each day. I couldn’t handle it any longer. I had to leave for my dead end job at 7 o’clock and there were important meetings scheduled for the whole day. Sleep is important, or at least it keeps me from losing my mind.

“What do you want?” I ask aloud, my voice still thick.

He tilts his head further to the side, his eyes still on me.

“Trying to send me a secret message by Morse code?” I ask sarcastically.

He begins tapping on the window again and I groan, covering my ears with my pillow. A sudden idea comes to mind and I retrieve my phone from the bedside table. I type ‘morse code’ into the search engine and wait for the options to load. I lay it aside and grab a pen and paper from the draw.

*Tap Tap Tap*

I write down the sequence of taps and the pauses. He waits and tilts his head in the other direction.

“You’ve made me do this. Going crazy is a side effect from little sleep.”

He begins tapping again and I continue to scribble it down on the paper. Picking my phone back up, I begin looking up the different sequences and what they translate into.

“Alright, Mr Pigeon. Let’s see what wisdom you have to share.”

Why are you sleeping?

I frown and recheck my decoding.

There is no way in hell, that this bird is making sense.

“Alright, I was sleeping because I’m tired and it helps me recover. Why do you wake me up, huh?

He tapped on the window pane again and I write it down.

Surely it was just a coincidence.

You’re missing out. When was the last time you watched a sunrise?

“Ages ago, I can’t even remember, but going to work while fully rested is more important.”

It seems you’ve forgotten. Forgotten your adventurous, free spirit.

“Growing up does that to people. Then when we retire we’ll be able to do all that again.”

You don’t have to wait. Come, I’ll show you.

This is ridiculous.

Despite my own inner reservation, I tiptoe across the cool floor boards to the window. He just watches me as I unlatch the window and lift it up. It makes a terrible racket but he doesn’t fly away or even flinch.

See, that wasn’t so hard. You could have done that earlier this week instead of ignoring me.

“Oh shut up,” I say. “Now what did you want to show me?”

Step outside.

“Hell no. I may be crazy, but I have no intention of being killed.”

He gives me a blank look and tilts his head again.

“Stop doing that…”

I sit on the sill of the window and begin to lift one leg over.

I can’t believe that I’m actually doing this.

I’m sitting on the sill now, both legs dangling over the edge. The breeze is cold and my shorts flutter in the wind. I shiver and lean forward to look down at the street below. The street lights illuminate the cold cement footpath and tarmac street. For some reason it doesn’t seem that scary and I look across at him.

“So, what now?”

Fly…

He jumps and stretches his silver wings. He flutters by my head and flies into the air. I lift my hands instinctively to protect myself as he flies past. Before I know it, I’ve slipped. I clutch around me, trying to grab onto the ledge. My hands miss and I begin to fall. I can feel a scream caught in my throat and I close my eyes tightly.

I hear a soft coo, like a laugh, in my ear. Strong arms wrap around my waist and the falling sensation stops. I open my eyes in surprise, only to snap them shut when we begin to ascend swiftly.

“Okay, I think that’s enough adventure for me!” I yell, clutching onto the arm around my waist. “Lesson learnt, I’m quite happy with my boring life.”

Another cooing chuckle drifts to my ears and my feet are planted on firm ground. The ground is soft and slightly moist. I stand still for a moment, making sure I wasn’t about to move again and open my eyes. The arm around my waist relaxes and releases me as I gaze around me. Shifting around my feet is a white fog and in the distance the sun is beginning to peek over the horizon. The city where I live has seemed to disappear and above me is a disappearing canopy of stars.

“Still would have preferred to stay in bed?” a quiet voice asked from behind me.

I spin to find a set of amber eyes watch me, with a look of curiosity and amusement. The amber eyes belong to a young man, long silver curls drift around his face. Large grey wings, with black edges, protrude from his shoulder bones and his clothes are also made out of feathers.

He approaches, as I continue to stare at him in awe, and brushes a few stray hairs away from my face. He then dips his head forward, drawing near to me as I just blink. I realize what is happening and I clear my throat, turning to look back at the sunrise.

“It has been a long time,” I say quietly. “I guess I really do miss it. I just never really realized…”

“It misses you too,” he says softly.

“The sunrise?” I ask doubtfully.

“Sure, but there are others that miss you too,” he says moving to my side.

“Like who? Nobody ever misses me, I’m just another person in the mass.”

“Maybe down there, but up here you may as well be the queen.”

“Really? Do I have a king by my side here?”

I feel his eyes on me and try to ignore my stupid heart as it begins to beat differently. He reaches across again and I feel something being placed on my head. A mirror is placed in my hand as well and I lift it up. Firstly, I meet my reflection’s curious eyes and tilt it further to my messy bed hair. An intricate silver crown sits perfectly on my hair, tiny feathers carved into the metal.

“My queen,” he says, bowing. “Wherever you are, you are the queen of your destiny, your world and everything you see can be yours. You merely need to take the leap.”

“I don’t know if I have enough courage,” I say, intertwining my fingers.

“Which is why you have me, to give you a push,” he says smiling down at me.

“You did that on purpose? That was dangerous.”

“Hey, I caught you, didn’t I? Besides it got the adrenaline pumping.”

I laugh and look across at him happily.

“Then I’m relying on you to push me, to catch me and to bring me back up again.”

“Of course, my queen,” he says, grabbing my hand.

He kisses the back of my hand gently, as the sunlight rises to splay its rays over us. He turns and the breeze ruffles his feathers. He sighs gently and his amber eyes meet mine again.

“The sun has risen and it’s time for you to return home,” he says gently.

“So, I’ll be seeing you again?” I ask.

“Of course, it’s my duty to be by your side. So, same time tomorrow?” he replies smiling.

*Bzzt Bzzt Bzzt*

I jump suddenly and find myself back in my own bed. I roll over and turn off the alarm. I glance across at the window, but he isn’t there. However, gleaming in the sunlight, is the silver crown. I smile and swing my legs over the side of the bed.

“Same time tomorrow,” I confirm with a whisper into the quiet room.

4 thoughts on “The Pigeon (Short Tale)

Leave a Reply

